top of page

Dr Thomas Eshun-Wilson

Educated in South Africa, Dr Thomas Eshun-Wilson commenced working as a full-time refractive surgeon in February 2003. Over the course of the year with the Boots Lasik Clinic in Bristol (United Kingdom), Dr Eshun-Wilson was able to perform over 400 Lasik procedures himself, with thousands of pre and postoperative consultations.

Between 2004 – 2006 Dr Eshun-Wilson continued in a range of high-volume clinics until moving to Perth where he worked as a senior registrar at Fremantle Hospital in Perth, Western Australia in a general Ophthalmology capacity.

In March 2007 Dr Eshun-Wilson moved to Hervey Bay and commenced in private practice, as a Comprehensive Ophthalmologist working as an associate for Central Queensland Eye Centre (CQEC) as part of Vision Group Holdings.

The Wilson Eye Centre

In June 2010 Dr Eshun-Wilson opened the WILSON EYE CENTRE in brand new rooms in both Hervey Bay and Bundaberg with the ‘state of the art’ equipment, performing surgery at St Stephens Hospital Hervey Bay and the Bundaberg Private Day Hospital.


  • In 2011 Wilson Eye Centre was the first clinic in Australia to order the new revolutionary Optos 200Tx Retinal Imaging System which allows us to photograph and view 200 degree of the retina instead of the traditional 30 degrees.

  • In May 2012 Dr Eshun-Wilson  operated on his 2000th Cataract patient in the Wide Bay region.

  • In November 2013 Dr Eshun-Wilson pioneered the use of the Ologen Implant in Australia. This is used during glaucoma surgery to augment Trabeculectomy blebs.


Professional Affiliations


  • Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmology (RANZCO)

  • Royal College of Ophthalmologists (RCO)

  • American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO)

  • Asia Pacific Association of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (APACRS)

  • Australasian Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (AUSCRS)

  • Australian & New Zealand Society of Retinal Specialists (ANZSRS)

  • Neuro-Ophthalmology Society of Australia (NOSA)

  • American Academy of Neurology (AAN)

  • Australian Society of Ophthalmologists (ASO)


  • ECFMG (USA-Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates-0-583-532-7)

  • APHRA (Australian Health Practitioner Registration Agency - MED0000972101)

bottom of page